Skip to main content

Book Club

Joining a group such as The Penny Hoarder Community pretty much indicates that personal finance is a topic that interests you. But still, it can be really difficult to talk to others in your life about money. I write about personal finance for a living, but one thing I’m currently struggling with is initiating a money talk with my mom. I’m concerned about whether she has her financial affairs in order and I’m not sure what financial support she might need from me and my siblings as she gets...Read More...
Last Reply By Olivia · First Unread Post
Telling your significant other how much money you make or how much debt you have can be an awkward conversation. But discussing whether you should sign a prenuptial agreement before marriage is next-level uncomfortable. Having tough money talks is the entire focus of a book I recently read — “Broke Millennial Talks Money” by Erin Lowry. And yes, there’s a section on prenups and how to tactfully ask for one. Lowry chatted with The Penny Hoarder via Facebook Live last week, and she talked...Read More...
Last Reply By sthom · First Unread Post
After a year of primarily staying at home, I know many of us are itching to reconnect with friends and family — in real life, not over a screen. While group outings are wonderful — things can get tricky when someone invites you to a place or makes plans for a vacation that you can’t really afford. Are you upfront with friends and family about your budget limitations for group outings? Or do you suck it up and spend more than you want? Erin Lowry’s latest book, “Broke Millennial Talks Money,”...Read More...

Upcoming Virtual Event With “Napkin Finance” Author Tina Hay

Nicole D.