Skip to main content

Book Club

Joining a group such as The Penny Hoarder Community pretty much indicates that personal finance is a topic that interests you. But still, it can be really difficult to talk to others in your life about money. I write about personal finance for a living, but one thing I’m currently struggling with is initiating a money talk with my mom. I’m concerned about whether she has her financial affairs in order and I’m not sure what financial support she might need from me and my siblings as she gets...Read More...
I don't know what the book mentioned above would ask, but if your parents are willing, you could just ask them, how they want to be cared for as they age. (Because you love them and want to respect their wishes). Then do your research and present them with the costs involved. If the discussion is open and honest they will be able to see if they have enough in place, or if they have to pare down their wishes, or put more aside as they are able. If they balk at discussing these things, then...Read More...
Good idea. Although my parents and I do, at times, talk about their finances, we haven't had a pointed discussion about what they will need from me. That's quite a thought. I'm still supporting 2 young teen boys, and can't imagine taking on additional financial responsibility! Since my parents are in their mid 70's, we should start thinking about this. Thanks for the idea.Read More...
Last Reply By Olivia · First Unread Post
Telling your significant other how much money you make or how much debt you have can be an awkward conversation. But discussing whether you should sign a prenuptial agreement before marriage is next-level uncomfortable. Having tough money talks is the entire focus of a book I recently read — “Broke Millennial Talks Money” by Erin Lowry. And yes, there’s a section on prenups and how to tactfully ask for one. Lowry chatted with The Penny Hoarder via Facebook Live last week, and she talked...Read More...