That unfortunately is the case for a lot of people. I am one of the few that asks questions and wants to know what other business expenses they had that they didn't know could be deducted like bills for a shop they own, etc.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .