Every year I go through important documents and shred everything after 3 years except major purchases, I keep receipts until I replace them. I just really hate clutter and unnecessary stuff hanging around.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .