I agree, it is not a huge amount to me either. But to him? Enormous. The temptation is there to just cover it for him, but you all are right...he needs to do this himself. Thanks for taking the time to reply.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .