Can I buy a home with student loan debt?

My husband I are saving for a house in the D.C. area, so not cheap. But I recently graduated with a Master’s degree and I have about $20,000 in student loans. Those aren’t going to be paid off anytime soon because I’m a freelance writer still getting the business up and running.

Is it a bad idea to jump into buying a house? We would wait until we saved at least 10% down, so it’ll be a year or two. What do you guys think? Thanks!

I say jump into the market as soon as you can - especially in that market! Putting it off could mean you might get priced out of the market and…you never know what will happen to interest rates in a future economic state.

1 Like

I say, definitely go for it and see!! I bet you will be able to

I was turned down because of my student debt, but I have more than that.

2 Likes

I’m sorry but if it were me, I’d not focus on buying a house just yet. Can you rent to own? If I had a Master’s and student loan debt, I’d get a job first to pay that off while working on getting the freelance business going.

1 Like

It’s much cheaper to buy a house than rent one. I would consider the southern Maryland area as its 30 minutes from DC and half the price . Also, jobs are prevalent in the dmv area. So you could work while establishing your freelance business. I bought my house out here 5 yrs ago and the property value has already doubled. Great luck!

2 Likes

Buying a home could be a good investment, especially in the area you are living in.

As long as you buy something within your means and that doesn’t put a significant burden on your financial situation, I would say go for it.

1 Like

I would look at buying a home in your area as an investment that you can also enjoy. You are buying something that appreciates, and based on other comments, quite well!!

1 Like