HOA not doing their tasks!

HELP!

I am new to my area and bought a condo where the HIA is responsible for the outside of my property including the roof and water (well water) Before I moved in they were aware of particular issues and agreed to fix these which included the roof being in poor repair as well as a flooding issue out front and some other minor repairs needed.

i have been here over six months and despite calling them, e mailing them and requesting maintenance on their website, these have not been fixed

I have notified them I am not paying their fees until this is done, I now owe 4 months! Not heard a word from them! How do I stand legally? I don’t have a mortgage on the property ( I have the unpaid money in an account!j

help and advise please! CJ

1 Like

We live in an HOA community in the southeast. We have a mortgage. The HOA is responsible for sewer, water, lawn, and general maintenance. We have done some pressure washing at our expense. From my understanding as a owner in our community we can be foreclosed on if our HOA monthly payments are not made. Our state is not consumer friendly. Renters have more options I imagine. I would write the HOA management team, and be aware you could be evicted for non payment of fees. I would consult an attorney, or legal aid office.

3 Likes

Here is a link on a procedure suggesting what to do (in no way am I offering legal advice-I know I am not qualified to do so), in the meantime I would document everything and have proof readily available. This creates a clear pathway for both sides-you and the HOA. As it states, meet with the board and find out what is going on. Best to you:

https://www.nolo.com/legal-enc…-not-maintained.html

2 Likes