I’m new here.

I’m new to Penny Hoarder, but have always been very frugal and I’m a budget nerd. I can show you every monthly budget from 1978 to present. I’m retired, my children have finished college and are in their careers and have families. I use Excel spreadsheets to project my annual budget, since I’m on a fixed retirement income. For 2020, I want to kill off $5000 in debt, should done by June 2020. I’m also selling my current home and buying a new home. I’m increasing my downpayment amount, even though I can use my VA loan and put zero down. I’m only concerned about one thing. I’ll be 60 this year and is that too old to buy a new home? I HAVE to live someplace and renting is just not an option. I need a large yard for my service dog. It’s hard to believe I’ve been fully retired for 20 years, but was still able to send two children to medical and law school. After their father and I divorced, I let him have the big house and it’s $3000/month payment. I got my equity and paid cash for my current home. Taxes and insurance are about $350/month. To rent in my city is $1200 to $1800 per month (plus deposits) and no yard. The homes I’m looking to buy will be about $1000/month PITI, and I can pay it off in about 7 years. ****** Is 60 TOO OLD to buy a home? ****** Any input will be greatly appreciated. I’ve attached a photo of Pilot, my service dog. I’ve been demoted to the Navigator seat!

First of all, Pilot is so cute! :)Also, welcome to the community!

Keeping a monthly budget since '78 is impressive! Great job staying so organized, I have a hard time getting started on a budget but this year that is one of my goals.

It seems like you have a pretty good handle on your finances and are making smart financial decisions for your future.

As for your question about age and buying a home, I would say that you have earned it!