buying a home

I am a single mom with 2 grown sons at home, both with medical issues. I was raised with the belief that if you didn’t have the cash, you didn’t need it in the first place. So, no credit cards. I had one, years ago, just to see what it was like. NEVER again would I have one. I got into to debt too easy and it was difficult to get out of. I have been renting a house for 20+ years and have the opportunity to buy a house that is within my budget. my credit is not all that great but I have been told I HAVE to have a credit card in order to buy this house. WHY??? Why am I being forced to go against the way I was raised and do something I don’t believe in??? I have already taken out a loan thru my bank to help this process, but didn’t want to do that, either. I think that I may have 1 or 2 more payments left…? When I talked with the bank loan officer, HE was the one who said the paying the loan wasn’t the problem that I had ample income. I pay my utilities every month I even managed to buy a car thru a car dealership a few years ago…but none of this seems to matter. WHY DO I NEED A CREDIT CARD…???

There is different types of credit, perhaps your credit is lacking this type. I realize it’s against what you want to do, but there really isn’t much harm in getting one and not using it. Or use it for the groceries, then go home and pay it off with the grocery money the next day.

I had to jump through all sorts of hoops to buy a house. It was worth it. Then I went back to managing things the way I want to.

1 Like

Only reason I can think of is that you dont have enough credit usage on your credit report. How was your score?