Future home and retirement

I am struggling with wanting a home, and saving for retirement. And where I will live a apartment or ? I’m looking at mobile homes because that’s what I can afford and I want it paid off in 15 yrs because of retirement. The apartments are getting so expensive and to have to pay $1000 a month is not appealing. So, I need some ideas.

1 Like

I purchased a condo a few weeks ago. I too, was tired of paying well upwards of $1000 (me and 2 children) for an apartment. I was looking at mobile homes but the park rents are all about $600. I knew I didn’t want to buy on my own land because I didn’t want that kind of maintenance. I found a condo that, even with the monthly fees, is $300 less than my rent. It’s not luxurious, but it is certainly suitable for my family. I had been saving for about 7 years, every tax return, etc, for a down payment. There are many loans out there for people with low income. With the loan I got, I was not able to get a 15 year one, but can refinance in 3 years for one. You may want to talk with a mortgage broker. I used Harbor One. As for saving for retirement, I’m doing that as well! I’m counting down till retirement I have awhile- I’m 50.

1 Like

I’ve looked at condos, and they still cost too much in my area. I’d have to live in a bad neighborhood to afford one, or you might find a condo or house that’s affordable but it needs too much repair work. I’m trying to get a mobile home right now, if the financing doesn’t work out right now I’ll have to save more money and wait.

1 Like

Good luck on the mobile home, Jennifer!

1 Like