Deciding what business to start - The 3 filter questions

Hi Team,

I use the word team because I feel like we are all on the same team here at PH. I had a conversation at work today about the best way to figure out what business to start.

I thought this would be a great place to start for a lot of people in the community.

The Filter process.

Every day lots of people come up with ideas for possible business, they think oh wow that is a problem I am having and others must have it too. This is a great mindset to have. It takes brainpower to realize an issue and a possible solution.

That is only the first step but you need to ask yourself a few more questions before putting all your savings into something.

I have been working to refine this process for several years, it’s not perfect but it works.

The next question you need to ask yourself is:

Is this scalable? Here’s why that matters. You may be able to do something awesome once or you might be able to make $1000 doing something really cool but it takes you 100 hours to build or make. That means you made $10 an hour, you probably need to move on to your next idea.

What kind of capital will this take? Do you have the current resources to work on this project,? You may have a great idea for a product, but what is it going to cost to design, manufacture, ship, and get into your customer’s hands. It may take $10K just for the molding plates in china. It may cost you $10 per click to get people to your website. All of this is fine if you have the budget for it.

Always ask yourself, do I have the capital for this, if not start over and keep thinking.

Do I have the skills or passion? Many people disagree on this point, some say you need a passion for the problem. The truth is that either approach works. That is why I said skills or passion you really only need one.