Time For Me To Buy A Car

Hey all, I know the topic of car buying has been brought up from time to time here, but this is my first time posting on here while actively shopping for a car.

I was rear ended about a month ago and my trusty 2004 Honda Accord was totaled.

My Poor Honda

I have since received an insurance payment (for a lot more than I paid for it, so that was nice!) and am currently shopping for a car to replace that one.

I personally always buy used and in this case, my Honda was used primarily for deliveries so I want to get something older because I don’t want to worry about how much wear and tear I am putting on my vehicle.

Of course, as most know, the car market saw all time highs over the past year or so and not all prices have come down yet.

I should also mention, I am currently trying to switch out my other sedan for a minivan. I already have a buyer for the car, just trying to find the right van at the right price.

That being said, I would like to know your best tips, tricks, info, & warnings when it comes to buying a car.

I have bought from both private sellers and dealerships in the past, which do you prefer and why?

I know this topic is about me buying a car but I am sure you have something to share that could help not just me but also future car shoppers.

So share away!

5 Likes

No tips, but I am sorry about the accident! I hope you weren’t hurt- that car does look bad! Do you live in an area where you have a lot of options for purchasing?

I had to purchase a vehicle in the last few years, and ended buying new (for the first time) because it was only slightly more than used. (Crazy!) My 17 year old son was looking for a car and that took some time. We ended up finding one private sale on the side of the road that was amazing.

Good luck!

1 Like

Oh dear, that does look like a totaled car, we just went through that last year when my son totaled our 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe.