What is the worst financial advice you've ever received?

I’m feeling playful today–what is the worst financial advice you’ve ever received? Mine was so bad it was epic and funny, at least to me.

I am a professional author of a trade paperback and two e-books, one of which is self-published. This “make a six figure income and travel the world” guru wrote that you could get a six figure income by hiring a ghostwriter (I’ve done that, too) to write 100 books and sell them on Kindle.

This is funny to me because of what all goes in to writing a book. My trade paperback is about 22,500 words and took three months to write and was published two months later–that’s extremely fast for a book and at several points in time I questioned my sanity. Total haul–$7,500.

Multiply that by 100. If you write one book at a time at three months per book, you’ll hit 100 books at 300 months, or 25 years.

While we’re at it, a total haul of $7,500 over 3 months comes down to $525 a week. You can make that at a full-time job that pays slightly more than $13/hour.

But say you do e-books. Most e-books sell less than 100 copies. So let’s say you sell 100 copies at $100 each–I own an extremely rare book that cost that much! I’m not shelling out that kind of money on an unknown writer with no reviews!

Also, my record turnaround on e-books is a 25-page e-book on overcoming loneliness that was written in 5 days, and the client I wrote it for defaulted, so I self-published it to recoup some of my losses. Writing five pages a day is pretty taxing even if you know what you’re doing.

Anyway, that’s the worst advice I ever got on how to make money. What’s yours?

1 Like

I think some of the worst advice for making money a lot of people talk about and is kind of the first advice you run into when you get started online.