What Money Lessons Have You Learned From Your Father?

With Father’s Day approaching, it’s a good time to reflect on the money lessons you’ve learned from your dad. What have you learned from your father that has helped your financial life?

I’m a writer at The Penny Hoarder and will be compiling people’s responses for an upcoming story. If you respond, we’d also love to see photos of you along with your dad! Feel free to email me directly at nicole@thepennyhoarder.com.

Thank you! And happy early Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

1 Like

While I am much closer to my father these days (he’s 72 now), it’s more like what I didn’t learn from him. My father was an expert on scamming the system. He has claimed extra people on his taxes, committed insurance fraud on both cars (drove his car off a cliff and reported it stolen), home (had someone break in and steal stuff and collected the insurance) and fire (allegedly burned down his own house, not proven, but we’re all pretty sure he did). He is on disability and has a limit to what he can earn on his job, so he found employers that would pay him under the table. I honestly could name quite a few other things, but you get the idea. So, I guess I thank my dad for showing me how I definitely do not want to be.

7 Likes

My Dad did the grocery shopping in our home and most of the cooking. My mother did the financial stuff. What I learned from my wonderful Dad was to shop at multiple stores and to know which stores to go to for what. I carry on his tradition. He would be amazed by Aldi’s if he were still alive. Oh yes, and to always enjoy a good cup of coffee.

6 Likes

I’ll have to look for a picture of me and my Dad to send you, Nicole.

Always save money, and put something away for a rainy day. Be frugal. Life and health insurance are important. A paid off mortgage is best. Prepayment of funeral costs helps the family cope. Live a debt free life!

5 Likes