Are cheap travel options really worth it?

Hey all! I’m a writer here at The Penny Hoarder and want to take a few minutes to talk about traveling on a budget.

Whether it’s been out of necessity or simply my frugal sensibilities, I’ve always looked for the most affordable way to get from point A to point B, even if it came at the expense of my comfort. My thought being: I’d rather have a little extra in my pocket to spend on food and experiences.

This all stemmed from my previous life as a New Yorker. Living in one of the most expensive cities in the country, cutting costs wherever possible was a way of life. Still, I was constantly on the go, regularly visiting family in New Hampshire and friends in Philadelphia. Without a car at my disposal, I relied heavily on public transportation. Not planes. Not trains. I became a frequent bus traveler.

The buses I took never left from Port Authority. (Remember, I am frugal.) No, I always hopped on the subway to Chinatown and picked up a ticket from one of the über-affordable (if precarious) options available there. It was always a chaotic, disorganized mess. But the tickets were open-ended, and a round-trip to Philly only set me back $20. Boston cost $30.

Fast forward to this summer: Now a Florida resident, I’ve twice flown on one of those no-frills, super budget airlines. You know the type. Entry-level tickets get you booked, but every single amenity, including a cup of water, costs you. (I wouldn’t be surprised if one day they start charging to use the restroom.) I do this to myself largely because of the cost and the frequency I plan to be making this particular trip. Round-trips to Maine have only been setting me back roughly $150. But there is also a convenience factor since this is the only airline that flies direct between the two cities I’m traveling between.