How to capitalize from the stock market panic right now.

Hi Team,

This post is going to be short and straight forward. Because of the panic due to Covid 19 the stock market has plummeted. It recently saw the biggest drop in a single day since 2008. So what to do. The best thing to do is open an investing account. If you have more than $10k then open a Vanguard account and buy the S&P 500 index fund. Its symbol is VOO. If you have less than 10K then sign up for the Robinhood app on iPhone and Android. This is a commission-free platform. Then do the same things go and buy the VOO and sit and wait.

With any luck, you should be able to increase your investment by 30% within 6 months.

Good luck

2 Likes

There is definitely a lot of panic right now, but they do say, this is the perfect time to buy!

2 Likes

@Elan Must Save That is some straight forward advice! Would you mind sharing some credentials? Are you a financial adviser by profession? Possess any securities licenses? I think it’s only fair to ask. I love good tips, but when we are discussing 10K, and tho I have read many places it might be a good time to buy, I like to know the experience behind the tip!

1 Like

Hi Mintjulep, Well said, credentials please and thank you.

Onto the corona virus, this virus has been around for many years, just not in epidemic form. Here’s a reference from the CDC on understanding viruses:

https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/viruses/index.htm

In my opinion, a lot of this panic is being fueled by the media, creating a knee-jerk reaction in the stock market, just as they do when snow is about to fall, stores have a rush on the essentials of being snowbound.

Please don’t get me wrong, this is a serious virus and precautions are to be taken, just as with any flu virus.

1 Like

mintjulep posted: