Student Loan Forgiveness

Hey Penny Hoarder community! I’m a writer here at TPH and it’s been a minute since I posted.

We’ve had a lot of news this week related to student loans and student loan forgiveness. TPH has been pushing out a lot of stories.

That said, we want to hear some of your personal stories about student loans.

First, we’d love to hear how the $10,000 forgiveness announcement affected you. Did it wipe out your loans completely? Did it help you get closer to the finish line? If so, how will that allow you to focus on other areas of your like – planning a wedding, saving for down payment, simply paying all the bills every month or so on?

Second, if you’ve already paid off your loans for you or a family member (like a spouse or child), we’d love to hear your personal story. What were some of the sacrifices you made to pay off those loans? How did your money situation change once your loans were gone? What could you do that couldn’t before?

Hopefully, your personal story will help motivate others to continue eliminating their student loan debt!

Thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

i never had any student loans

2 Likes

When I sold my house (2-bedroom, 2.5 bath condo) one year ago, I paid off my remaining student loans of $10,523.98. I wish I waited a year but I was unsure at the time what the federal government would decide on forgiving student loans. I could’ve kept my $10,000 in my high-yield savings account.

Then again, if I understand correctly, President Biden was the one who called on forgiving $10,000, and this bill still needs to be introduced in Congress. So who knows how long this would take to actually happen. I’m also living with my parents temporarily, so would our combined household income now disqualify me from receiving loan forgiveness?