Student loans!!

80,000.00 in student loans, masters degree but will be dead before they are played off . HELP!!!

I would like to know more about this as well. I am in the Public Loan Forgiveness Program.

1 Like

I am in it as well. This is the ONLY way that I will get out from under all this. I work in Human Services, and while I LOVE my career (I’ve been doing it for 25 years), it’s not a high paying field. Even with a Master’s.

1 Like

I totally understand. I am enrolled and every year my payments increase, but my balance just remains the same
I keep wondering is anything going towards my balance??

I was reading online about a Registered Nurse or Advanced Degree could be relieved of student loans if they go to work in an area that has a shortage of nurses thru the state. This was in Alabama but assume it could be any state. Hope this helps.

1 Like

I have federal and private student loans that definitely amount to more than I ever wanted. I felt like I was drowning with them for a very long time. (Didn’t help that right after college I made some bad decisions regarding money and missed a few payments
)

Anyway, I finally feel some slight relief after I refinanced recently. Rates were better than what I had started with so I figured “why not?” Now I have a slightly more manageable payment and I see the balance getting a little smaller each month. Still not as much change as I want of course.

Other options that I’m aware of are working in public service positions to get forgiveness. The most popular I know of is teaching, even something like ESL for adults or overseas. It’s tempting for federal loans, but it doesn’t apply to private, I believe.