Student loans

I’ve have approximately $25,000. in student loads. I’m 65, become disabled and receive a small SSI check. Does the student loan become forgiven due to my situation?

I’m pretty sure you can get the loan forgiven due to your disability, but I would check with your student loan servicer and see what the application process is.

It is my understanding that it can be, but definitely look into it with your loan provider.

I’m 54 and have around 32K in private student loans. I am a teacher and applied for loan forgiveness three times when I taught in a Title 1 school and was rejected every time.

I am simultaneously paying off my parent loans for my son and daughter, both of who are still in college. That’s right. I’m paying: the expected family contribution for two children; the parent loans I had to take out for both of their first-year in college; and my own student loans.

I have stopped paying on the parent loans (which I was doing voluntarily and which are now accumulating interest) and I have forbearance status for my student loans for a year so interest is accumulating on those as well.

Is there anything else I can do to lessen the load?

Thanks for the help.

Is the government thinking about passing a bill on the student loans forgiveness .

I wish the government would forgive student Loans. I owe $68,000 in student loans. I am a single mother with a mortgage living in NY not cheap. My income is $54,000 yr. Go figure, how will I ever repay this unless I receive a windfall at 55yrs old. God help us all.

You’ll have to do some investigating. You can start a payment plan based on your income. There also forgiveness programs. Here’s one site https://studentaid.gov/manage-…iveness-cancellation That website offers many programs. Get Jiggy. No one can do it for you thumb

1 Like

@mark.sandon posted: