Buying Generic Over Name Brand

Who here opts for generic or store-brand products over brand-name items to save money?

I know I do. Sometimes the savings are minor, like 20 cents off a can of beans, but other times, I can save over a dollar on an item by not going with the brand-name version.

Of course, there are some products I’m picky about, like my moisturizing cream. I buy the Cetaphil brand because I feel like it’s the best quality for my skin, even though the store-brand version is always cheaper.

What things do you buy generic and how has it saved you money? What brand-name products earn your dollars regardless of price difference?

I’m a staff writer at The Penny Hoarder, and your comments may be included in an upcoming story!

2 Likes

I will use generic for anything but my hair products. I will not even purchase those off any bargain websites since I find that the quality is not always the same. Otherwise, food, clothes, household supplies; I will get the generic if the ingredients are the same. And I check.

3 Likes

Oh yeah, checking the ingredients is key! Many times, they’re basically the same.

2 Likes

I have some items I’d rather have none then the store brand. Butter, not margarine and I buy a trusted brand. Dove bar soap. The only one I use. Oil of Olay moisturizer. Palmolive green dish soap, the scent brings me back to great memories. But for trash bags, office supplies (except the refills for my Cross pen. I’ve used the same pen since 1978) laundry soap, cane sugar, salt, pepper store brands or non-big name label are fine. Reading the labels is critical for me because of allergies.

4 Likes