Was the cost of your degree worth it?

If you stay away from for-profit schools and don’t get loans to subsidize your living - YES. You will make more money from a job even if it is not in the same field as the degree. It is a step to stand on to lift you up.

1 Like

My educations were monetarily free, the institution I worked for paid for Massage school, a BS in Medical Research and Technology, and Environmental Management.

I am so fortunate. Every penny they paid was well earned and brought into my professions.

1 Like

My education from top 100 schools was definitely worth it. I learned to think and analyse in addition the subject matter. I studied subjects that most women didn’t take during the early age of women’s lib. The technical majors combined with attendance at top notch schools made finding lucrative jobs very easy.

Yes, I attended a respected state university and picked a degree that was practical. It allowed me to have a long steady career in education. While teachers do not command top dollar, until 2008’s recession it was reasonable to expect to be able to find a job if you wanted one.
My advice to a young person would be to pick your major/career path carefully. Research the growth of the industry. Then , pick a school that is “not for profit “ or private ($$$$) . If you do choose private , make sure that the industry or area you choose is growing and commands top salaries/income potential. Most skills offered in vocational schools “for profit “ are offered at state junior colleges for much less tuition costs.

I’d say it depends on the degree. For example, one might not want to major in something that’s not economically feasible and pay a lot of money for it. That strategy generally produces a net loss. Conversely, if you feel that the lifetime value of the degree will net much more than the tuition, I think it’s worth it in that sense.